Random Video Player

About The Sword

  • The Sword is an American heavy metal band from Austin, Texas. Formed in 2003, the band is composed of vocalist and guitarist John "J. D." Cronise, guitarist Kyle Shutt, bassist Bryan Richie, and drummer Santiago "Jimmy" Vela III. Originally signed to New York-based independent label Kemado Records, the group released its debut album Age of Winters in 2006, which was largely written by Cronise before the band's formation. Follow-up album Gods of the Earth was released two years later, and gave the group its first entry on the US Billboard 200 chart.

    In 2010 the band released Warp Riders, a concept album centered on an original science fiction narrative, which marked the first time the band had enlisted an external producer in Matt Bayles. Original drummer Trivett Wingo left the group later in the year, and was replaced briefly by Kevin Fender before Vela joined in 2011. After leaving Kemado and signing with Razor & Tie in early 2012, the group released its fourth album Apocryphon in October, which is currently (as of December 2013) being promoted worldwide on the Apocryphon Tour.

    The Sword is commonly categorized as a doom metal or stoner metal band, and is heavily influenced by groups such as Black Sabbath and Sleep. The band has toured with a wide range of fellow metal artists, including ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, Year Long Disaster, and Metallica on multiple occasions. The Sword's first album, Age of Winters, failed to chart, but subsequent releases have all gained increasing commercial success, with Apocryphon charting in the top 20 of the Billboard 200 chart and the top five of numerous other Billboard charts.

  • Sorry we have no news about this band.
  • Sorry we have no interviews for this band.
  • Sorry we have no reviews about this band yet.

  • Apocryphon
  • Apocryphon

    Released : 2012
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. The Veil Of Isis
    2. Cloak Of Feathers
    3. Arcane Montane
    4. The Hidden Masters
    5. Dying Earth
    6. Execrator
    7. Seven Sisters
    8. Hawks & Serpents
    9. Eyes Of The Stormwitch
    10. Apocryphon
    11. Arrows In The Dark - Live At Emo's / Austin, TX - Bonus Track
    12. Barael’s Blade - Live At Stubb's BBQ / Austin, TX - Bonus Track
    13. The Chronomancer II: Nemesis - Live At Stubb's BBQ / Austin, TX - Bonus Track
    14. Ebethron - Live At Stubb's BBQ / Austin, TX - Bonus Track
    15. Cheap Sunglasses - Bonus Track
  • Warp Riders
  • Warp Riders

    Released : 2010
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Acheron/Unearthing the Orb
    2. Tres Brujas
    3. Arrows in the Dark
    4. The Chronomancer I: Hubris
    5. Lawless Lands
    6. Astraea's Dream
    7. The Warp Riders
    8. Night City
    9. The Chronomancer II: Nemesis
    10. (The Night the Sky Cried) Tears of Fire
  • Gods of the Earth
  • Gods of the Earth

    Released : 2008
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. The Sundering
    2. The Frost-Giant's Daughter
    3. How Heavy This Axe
    4. Lords
    5. Fire Lances of the Ancient Hyperzephyrians
    6. To Take The Black
    7. Maiden, Mother & Crone
    8. Under the Boughs
    9. The Black River
    10. The White Sea
    11. Bonus Track
  • Age Of Winters
  • Age Of Winters

    Released : 2006
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Celestial Crown
    2. Barael’s Blade
    3. Freya
    4. Winter’s Wolves
    5. The Horned Goddess
    6. Iron Swan
    7. Lament For The Aurochs
    8. March Of The Lor
    9. Ebethron
  • The Sword
  • The Sword

    Released : 2005
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Larun beat
    2. Has the penny dropped?
    3. Want for nothing
    4. Live as you learn
    5. Western front
    6. End of session
    7. Mountain to climb
    8. To make a change
    9. Tonight's the night