Random Video Player

About Northern Oak

  • Founded in early 2006 during a wintry excursion to the Peak District, Northern Oak have been spreading their unique brand of flute-heavy progressive folk metal across Sheffield and the rest of the UK ever since. The band have a slew of gigs under their belt, including festival appearances in London, Edinburgh and Nottingham and two sets at Bloodstock Open Air 2011. Following the release of their debut album 'Tales From Rivelin' in 2008, the band have gone from strength to strength with their current lineup, and unleashed their second full-length album 'Monuments', a darker and more complex offering than its predecessor, to positive reviews in 2010.

    With a rich, organic sound that evokes the lush, tranquil landscape of the White Peak then cascades onwards into harsh, jagged chaos reminiscent of the terrain of the Dark Peak, the music builds from rock-solid, groove-laden foundations and thunderous double-kick work into detailed harmonic overtures as guitar, flute, keyboards and violin complement and harmonise with each other. In keeping with the band's roots, the lyrical themes often display a strong connection to and appreciation of the endless majesty of nature.

    Praised for the energetic, powerful and theatrical nature of their live performances, Northern Oak are currently working on new material and continuing to gig around the country in support of ‘Monuments’.  

  • Sorry we have no news about this band.

Chris Mole from Northern Oak has been kind enough to get back to me and answer a few questions about the band and let us all know more about themselves.             What's the name of your band? What's

Read More

News Was Posted on: 8th November, 2014
  • Sorry we have no reviews about this band yet.

  • Triptych
  • Triptych

    Released : 2015
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. The Court of Owls
    2. Ellan Vannin
    3. A Portrait
    4. The Court of Owls (Instrumental)
    5. Ellan Vannin (Instrumental)
    6. A Portrait (Instrumental)
  • Monuments
  • Monuments

    Released : 2010
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Sun God's Wrath
    2. Gawain
    3. Into The Forest
    4. Silvan Lullaby
    5. Arbor Low
    6. Nivis Canto
    7. Cerridwen's Round
    8. The Scarlet Woman
    9. Death In The Marshes
    10. Pavane in G Minor
    11. In These Hills
    12. Monuments For Hollow Souls

  • Upload an image of this band.(Work in progress)