Random Video Player

About Year Of No Light

  • Yet one more band started after too many belgian beers under the sun of the ending summer of 2001, Year of no light slightly but undoubtly started to slide down to gloomier atmospheres as the inherent chaos of Bordeaux's caves and harshness of winter made their common work. As the line-up was getting solid the band clarified their intentions and started to build the basis of what would be their first demo recorded in 2004.

    More and more shows were played and the rather general critical acclaim of the demo quoting them as being "The Cure playing sludge" combined with live reviews becoming more and more encouraging compeled the band into the writing of new tracks that would finally end up on their first album "Nord", recorded at Rec studio under the direction of Serge Morratel in the fall of 2005. This material was mastered early 2006 in New York with Alan Douches and ends up here on 2*LP gatefold via Atropine & E-vinyl and also there on Cd via Radar swarm and re-issued later in the US via Crucial Blast records.

    Year of no Light spent most of the last 4 years spreading its enthralling psychedelic warfare to a continually growing audience. Alongside they parted ways with their singer (R.I.P) and recruited two other thirsty mercenaries. Shiran, of über-doom combo "Monarch!", brings now his chthonian six strings to an already massive cathedral of noise and ambient drone tones. Mathieu, of deviant-electronics act "Aérôflôt", strengthens ritualistic tribal rhythm patterns.

    Out of their cave, they secluded into an old theater to record these 4 tracks catching every possible vibration of the trembling frame of this enlivened a new mansion. All the energy collected at that very moment forms "Ausserwelt", the sophomore album of Year of no Light. Mystical emanations flow out of these riffs colliding into each other to an in ear-splitting shriek. Cranked amps and molested drums hurl their mourning chant as a choir intoning its final psalms at the dawn of the Last Judgment. Year of no Light follows the path opened by "Nord" towards more somber psychedelics, creating its own blend of black metal, sludge, drone or any other influence marked with the seal of darkness.

    Still no caps, no core neither stupid modern nihilism but instead an ambiguous electrical network of acting singularities, now ready to afford the collective metaphysical crash to come.

  • Sorry we have no news about this band.
  • Sorry we have no interviews for this band.
  • Sorry we have no reviews about this band yet.

  • Vampyr (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
  • Vampyr (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

    Released : 2013
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Générique
    2. Courtempierre
    3. Testament
    4. Ombres
    5. Meurtre
    6. Deuil
    7. Vampire
    8. Morsure
    9. Damnée
    10. Malédiction
    11. Exsangue
    12. Saignée / révélations
    13. Passages
    14. Outremonde - Hiérophante
    15. Profanation / rédemption
    16. Orée - Abbesse
  • Nord (Deluxe edition)
  • Nord (Deluxe edition)

    Released : 2013
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Sélénite
    2. L'angoisse du veilleur de nuit d'autoroute les soirs d'alarme à accident
    3. Traversée
    4. Librium
    5. Les mains de l'empereur
    6. Tu as fait de moi un homme meilleur
    7. Somnambule
    8. Prosodia
    9. Par économie pendant la crise on éteint la lumière au bout du tunnel
    10. La bouche de vitus bering
    11. Cimmeria
    12. Le rire mauvais des enfants sages
    13. Metanoia
    14. Ils te feront payer tes crimes en monnaie de cauchemar
    15. Adoration
    16. Qu'importe qu'ils me haïssent, pourvu qu'ils me craignent
    17. Disorder
    18. Les mains de Nadja
    19. Ils avaient des visages d'anges et des fusils automatiques
    20. The Golden Horn of the Moon - Studio Version
    21. The Figurehead
  • Tocsin
  • Tocsin

    Released : 2013
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Tocsin
    2. Géhenne
    3. Désolation
    4. Stella Rectrix
    5. Alamüt
  • Live At Roadburn 2008
  • Live At Roadburn 2008

    Released : 2011
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Audience Noise / Drones - Live
    2. Tu as fait de moi un homme meilleur - Live
    3. Cimmeria - Live
    4. Traversée - Live
    5. Metanoia - Live
    6. L'angoisse du veilleur de nuit d'autoroute les soirs d'alarme à accident - Live
    7. Les mains de l'empereur - Live
    8. The Golden Horn Of The Moon - Live
  • Ausserwelt
  • Ausserwelt

    Released : 2010
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Perséphone - Enna
    2. Perséphone - Coré
    3. Hiérophante
    4. Abbesse

  • Upload an image of this band.(Work in progress)