Random Video Player

About Spires

  • Spires are a four piece Progressive Metal band, based in Manchester, UK. Initially the brainchild of vocalist, guitarist and producer Paul Sadler, he was later joined by Paul Cuthbert on guitar, Alex Jolley on bass, and Chris Barnard on drums. 

    Musically, comparisons are often made to Opeth, Emperor, Mastodon and Cynic; however this barely touches on the kaleidoscope of influences, both metal and otherwise, that combine to deliver a truly original, mesmerising and often transcendental sound. Spires combine technicality and intricate musicianship with a flare for song-writing that never loses touch of what music should be about, and helps the songs flow seamlessly as they progress. 

    Spires released their critically acclaimed debut full length album, 'Spiral of Ascension' in November 2010. Featuring 8 songs, and over 65 minutes of highly original music, the album has received huge amounts of praise and respect from the press, fans and critics. It is a culmination of everything the band has sought to achieve, with a fantastic production, tight and passionate performance, and beautiful artwork from Daniella Morrison. 

    Spires' live performances have earned them a regular sizeable following, and a reputation as an extremely tight, energetic, passionate and hard working live band. The band has achieved a great deal in just a few years, and 2011 saw them embarking on a full UK tour with fellow Mancunians Incassum, a mini UK tour with London based Progressive Metallers Talanas, and playing two sets to packed out tents at Bloodstock Open air. In early 2012 the band also embarked on a tour of Ireland with Prog Metallers Betraeus, as well as hitting the road again with Talanas.

    In July 2012 Spires also released ‘Lucid Abstractions’ a limited edition acoustic EP, again to widespread critical acclaim. This release saw the band exploring their softer side, with prominent use of cello, percussion and female vocals. In autumn 2013 the band embarked on ‘The Fevered Spirit Tour’, consisting of dates in UK and including for the first time various European dates. 

    Unfortunately in March 2014 original guitarist Paul Cuthbert left to focus on family life. However a replacement was very quickly found in previously unknown Richard Corrie, who settled into the material very quickly They are currently busy in the studio to recording their second LP, which is expected to be released in November 2014

  • Sorry we have no news about this band.
  • Sorry we have no interviews for this band.
  • Sorry we have no reviews about this band yet.

  • The Whisperer
  • The Whisperer

    Released : 2014
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Ethereal Organism
    2. At His Behest
    3. Surrogate
    4. Primal Revelation
    5. The Fevered Spirit
    6. Elsewhere
    7. The Whisperer
  • Lucid Abstractions
  • Lucid Abstractions

    Released : 2012
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Under Bloodstained Skies
    2. Lucid Abstractions
    3. Perception
    4. Inevitability
    5. Spiral of Ascension (acoustic)
  • Spiral Of Ascension
  • Spiral Of Ascension

    Released : 2011
    Views : 0
    Track List
    1. Equilibrium
    2. The Infinite Descent
    3. Nightfall
    4. Broken Hourglass
    5. Symmetry
    6. Martyr
    7. Spiral Of Ascension
    8. A New Prayer

  • Upload an image of this band.(Work in progress)